From BroaDWcast
(Redirected from WGBH)
Jump to: navigation, search


Airdates in Boston (WGBH)

Dr Who Premiere, 5 January 1976
Dr Who, Episode 1 listing, 5 January 1976
The Silurians, 10 February 1976

Channel 2 (PBS)

  • 5 January 1976: The standard package of Jon Pertwee stories began in Boston on Monday 5 January, from 7.30 to 8.00pm. The TOPS TODAY and main billings both name the star as "John Pertwee". The main billing for the first episode also offers rather scathing comments about the quality of the BBC's special effects!
  • 20 January 1976: the series moves to Tuesday.
  • 10 April 1976: The series moves to Saturdays.
  • 9 October 1976: Colony in Space is the last serial to air on WGBH -- Doctor Who moves over to sister channel WGBX from 12 October 1976 -- see below.

  • 29 January 1979: Tom Baker stories air Monday through Thursdays, 7:00pm.
  • 11 January 1980: A Friday airing is added.
  • 8 October 1980: Robot begins another run, this time without Howard Da Silva's narration.
  • 24 December 1982: Tom Baker's final season airs.
  • 2 July 1984: The Peter Davison episodes premiere.
  • 12 October 1984: Robot returns for the tenth time.
  • 26 June 1985: Peter Davison returns.
  • 2 October 1985: The complete Jon Pertwee package begins.
  • 16 May 1987: Sylvester McCoy makes his first US convention appearance, appearing at the WGBH studios as a part of the Doctor Who USA Tour travelling Bus Tour.
  • 22 April 1987: William Hartnell begins.
  • 13 August 1987: Patrick Troughton begins.
  • 6 September 1987: The series moves to Sunday nights at 11:30 with The Trial of a Time Lord.
  • 18 October 1987: Jon Pertwee returns.
  • 17 April 1988: Robot airing #11.
  • 14 August 1988: The series ends.
The Claws of Axos, 1 August 1976


Airdates in Boston (WGBX)
WGBX ID, summer 1978?

Channel 44 (PBS) (This is a sister channel to WGBH)

  • 12 October 1976: The Jon Pertwee stories are moved from WGBH (see above); the first serial to air on WGBX is The Daemons.
  • 17 May 1977: Seasons 10 and 11 (The Three Doctors through Planet of the Spiders, except Frontier in Space, Planet of the Daleks and Invasion of the Dinosaurs) premiere in the United States. The rest of the country would have to wait until 1983.
    • It would appear that the sale of these latter Pertwees was between WGBX and the BBC directly, rather than via Time Life, who only had the distribution rights up to The Time Monster. (WGBH and the BBC enjoyed a healthy co-production deal, which no doubt allowed WGBH/WGBX to acquire additional episodes of Doctor Who as a special one-off deal; a deal which would appear to have been in conjunction with CKVU and TVO in Canada, who also acquired the same set of episodes in 1977.) It's possible that although WGBX purchased the episodes first, the Bostonian station had to wait until after The Time Monster had aired to play them in sequential order, which is why the two Canadian stations actually aired a number of them first.
  • 9 March 1984: Aired The Five Doctors.
  • 6 November 1989: The Tom Baker stories air.
  • 12 July 1990: The Peter Davison stories air. Arc of Infinity is skipped.
  • 5 November 1990: The series ends.
The Daemons 3, Oct. 26, 1976
The Daemons 5, Nov. 9, 1976
Day of the Daleks 1, Nov. 16, 1976